Zandra Rhodes & why we must keep sketchbooks….

Amazing Artist Zandra Rhodes talks about keeping sketchbookshttp://www.surfacepatterndesignguild.org/1/post/2014/

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

I really wish I had seen this edhibition at the V&A, I really do miss living so close to London.  It was a favourite thing of mine to nip into Galleries between customer visits and business meetings…….and now that those “nip in’s ” that have always fed my soul, somehow would be more than a chance to stand and watch and stare and long for. These visits would give me the chance to do what I have learned to now do……to sit and the breathe and to look.  To sketch wjat I see is still not as I would like it to be but I at least am now I think finally well past the “fear” stage, and actually enjoying doing it. Developing the habit is finally embedded in my reflex’s now and I now at least bridge the blank page zerror by not starting a sketch book instead by buying A4 high quality paper soft cover one’s I take out the two fastening staples from the centre of the book, and use them as pages to play on.  I am in the middle of making a slihtly larger tha A4 sized portfolio to drop all these play pages into it by way of the being a sketchbook.  I cleared this with my lecturer Cath and this is now my self chosen pricess of working….fingers crossed.

Leave a Reply

