St George’s Church at Kings Stanley is just gorgeous……..

image

I visited a tiny church at the village of Kings Stanley just outside Stroud in Gloucestershire on Saterday.  Giles was at work in the morning and so I packed some paints,paper and ink and set off in the car with no pre thought out destination.

image

I just love doing that ……going out and following a route with every intention of being completley lost….I don`t know the area at all,  and it did not dissapoint it is SO astonishly beautifull.  Cotswold stone cottages and grand houses, perfect English cittage gardens and local pubs I even drove past some very appealing cricket matches.

image

I found the church wuite by accident, I spotted an honesty box and table to the side of the road pulled up to buy some eggs and as I was walking to collect them I glanced right and there it was……it just seems to peep out, to be hidden away at the end of a footpath,waiting to be found. The path goes through the parish cemetry and the notice posted to the wall does announce that it is prohibited, by enforceable parish rstrictions…..for anyone to mark the perimeters of the graves…….your headstone or marker is all you are permitted.  Woe betide anyone who does not tend their family members grave…..and there seemed quite a few that looked like they hadnt been trimmed, as a promise of shame on the household could be expected.  The yew trees had all been clipped resembling giant mushrooms or prehaps bells marking the edge of the path.

They are amazing trees quite comedic in shape the yndersides of the domes were even more like musherooms I found on further inspection. Great examples of surface pattern occuring naturally and I adote that overlapped tangle of snaked winding branches.

image

image

image

image

I sat on the grass in the sun listened to the bird’s,smelled the grass and painted a few versions of the branches, and then a small view of the church itself on some watercolour paper I had pre stretched onto a board. 

image

I was ever so pleased with it but not so much it would seem as the charming old man who complimented it off my board and into his happy hands……..

it never even dried completley and certainly wasnt photographed…doh!  He was so sweet and kept coming back to watch me paint…..when he asked if he might take it home to frame and enjoy, as it was such a “marvelous little scribble” I had captured it’s charm apparently? Anyhow charmed it was…..out of my mits into his…….

image

After being relieved of any physical evidence that I had actually spent an hour doing my summer project I deceided to go sit inside the church a while and had the whole place to myself for over an hour, I sat and stared at the frankly not great stained glass and tried to deceide why it was I didnt like them.

image

image

image

image

image

image

I just think they were very bland, subject matter and treatment, they just blended into the whole……kind of were there and not really that noticable as objects themselves, rather that they just happened to be there….

I did like the ceiling though beautifully painted, simple and spectacular all at the same time.

image

image

image

They do have a soul buildings don’t they?  This one does most definatley, a calm and certain one that just made me all quiet and still….thank you St George…..great church

:):):)

why not click on the link and follow my blog?

Leave a Reply

